European Music and Reformation Tour



18 days exploring France, Germany, Austria and Prague

May 11-28, 2019

Euro Tour.jpg

Three years ago, eight music majors along with Dr. Ken Mays, toured places of musical significance in Germany, Austria and Prague. Last spring, the tour opened its doors to alumni, family and friends.

“In my 32 years of teaching at Master’s, this experience has become one of the most treasured memories,” said Mays, tour guide and piano professor at The Master’s University.

This year’s trip, with over 25 points of interest, will be led by a German guide. Each participant will visit the film location of “The Sound of Music,” walk in Mozart’s hometown, explore Wartburg and Neuschwanstein Castles, see where Luther was sequestered and translated the New Testament to German, and much more.

After eighteen days in France, Germany, Austria and Prague, every trip member will have gained a greater understanding of Europe’s music history. “It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity,” as TMU alumna and former music major, Chelsea Sluiter described. “I loved exploring a new part of the world and learning so much about music and world history.”

As a TMU alumnus, Nathan Krell echoes Sluiter’s sentiment. “It’s experiences like these that make my education spiritually and musically worthwhile.”

The trip total is $3,995 with airfare and $3,100 without airfare.

The following is included in the price:

  • Airfare to and from LAX

  • Accommodations in double occupancy rooms

  • Transportation

  • Breakfast, lunch and dinner

  • Wartburg and Neuschwanstein Castles’ fees

  • Composer museum entrances

  • Gratuities for driver and guide

The following is not included in the price:

  • Room service gratuities ($2/day)

  • Single room supplement ($60/day)

  • Entrances for concerts and sightseeing attractions

Trip itinerary:

Saturday, May 11: Flight from Los Angeles to Paris, France

Sunday, May 12 : Arrival in Paris

Monday, May 13: Omaha Beach (75th anniversary), Paris

Tuesday, May 14: Paris, Versailles and Cologne, Germany

Wednesday, May 15: Bonn, Worms, Heidelberg

Thursday, May 16: Bayreuth, Nuremberg, Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Friday, May 17: Neuschwanstein Castle, Pilgrimage Church of Wies, Munich

Saturday, May 18: Salzburg, Austria

Sunday, May 19: Mondsee, Melk, Vienna

Monday, May 20: Vienna

Tuesday, May 21: Vienna and Prague, Czech Republic

Wednesday, May 22: Prague

Thursday, May 23: Dresde, Weimar, Germany

Friday, May 24: Eisenach, Halle

Saturday, May 25: Leipzig, Wittenberg

Sunday, May 26: Berlin

Monday, May 27: Berlin, Sachsenhausen

Tuesday, May 28: Flight from Berlin to Los Angeles, arrival in Los Angeles

For questions and to register email, kmays@masters.edu.

Staff Focus: Todd Kostjuk

Read Next