The Master's College

College announces President's Scholarship recipients

Posted on: March 21

The Master’s College has named the 10 recipients of its 2014 annual President’s Scholarship, which is the largest scholarship the school offers.

President’s Scholarship recipients must meet a rigorous set of criteria including a high school grade point average of 3.85 or higher, excellent standardized test scores (SAT I: 1400 combined Critical Reading and Math, ACT: 32) and demonstrated competence in service and leadership.

All applicants submit an extensive application, which includes a personal testimony and a pair of essays. This year’s topics were, “How will a TMC education will help you meet your goals?” and “What does biblical leadership mean to you and how do you demonstrate it in your own life?”

Applicants traveled to campus in February for a special dinner and campus tour and to be interviews by college faculty and staff. The final selections are made by a panel that convenes in the weeks after the interviews.

The award, which amounts to $14,000 annually and is automatically renewed for four years as long as the student maintains a 3.5 GPA, is reserved for students who most exemplify the kind of spiritual leaders the school is committed to producing.

The 2014-2015 award winners were selected in March. They are:

Caroline Moore, Jessica Horning, Paige Jacobsen, Eugene DeNezza, John Lian Uy, David Ramos, Emily Gibb, Lucas Bailey, Samantha Dick and Paige Miller.

“These students represent not only excellence in academic achievement, but also a track record of leadership and service in their communities and in their churches,” said TMC Director of Admissions John Melcon. “We’re excited to be able to invest in a lifetime of leadership with four years of awarding these scholarships.”

Melcon said the President’s Scholarship is always competitive, and that this year was no exception. The selection committee met with more than 20 applicants.

“Selecting finalists is always a challenge for the selection committee,” Melcon said. “This year we had many, many qualified applicants, as we do every year.”

Students who didn’t receive the President’s Scholarship are all offered the school’s highest academic award: the Distinguished Scholar Scholarship, which provides a renewable annual award of up to $11,000.

President’s Scholarship recipients are expected to become pillars of the TMC community by being active on the school’s Servant Leadership Staff (SLS), serving during the fall 2014 Fall Outreach Week, acting as hosts for future President’s Scholarship candidates and by maintaining a strong academic record.

“These expectations, of course, are supplementary to the more foundational expectations placed upon all TMC students; namely, to pursue biblical fidelity, moral integrity, intellectual growth and lasting contribution to the Kingdom of God,” the college wrote in a letter sent to 2014 President’s Scholarship award winners.