Preview: TMC vs. CSU San Marcos

November 27, 2012

SANTA CLARITA, Calif. – The Master’s College women’s volleyball team will make history today by making their first-ever appearance in the 2012 NAIA National Championships.  The Mustangs will open the pool play portion against CSU San Marcos at 3:45 PM (PST).

Entering the tournament ranked No. 6 in the country, the Lady Mustangs boast a regular season record of 26-5, including a 10-4 mark in GSAC play.

Leading the Mustangs with 409 kills and 52 service aces is Sam Dougherty (Madera, CA). Dougherty received the GSAC's "Player of the Week" award on two separate occasions this fall and was also a recipient of the NAIA's "Volleyball National Player of the Week" award.

And while Dougherty has contributed heavily to the Mustangs’ 26-5 record, it’s the entire team that has supported the best season in the program’s history. Notably, Rebecca Peluffo (La Crescenta, CA) leads the squad with 514 digs, while Alyssa Gergins (Murrieta, CA) has tallied 895 assists over the course of 31 games.

On the opposite side of the net, CSU San Marcos ended its 2012 campaign with a 29-13 regular-season record and garnished a No. 20 ranking in the NAIA’s final Top 25 poll.

Taylor Degraaf leads the Cougars with 595 kills, 60 service aces, and is number two on the team in digs with 335. CSU San Marcos setter Alyssa Foster finished regular-season play with a staggering assist count of 1,491, averaging 10.28 assists per game. Defensively, the Cougars are led by Nichole May who has tallied 524 digs over the course of the team’s 42-match season.

The Mustangs battled the Cougars of San Marcos twice in the regular season, beating them 3-1 in both showings.

Follow today’s match live via DakStats Webcast by clicking here.*

*NeuLion, the NAIA's official video-streaming company of 12 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting, on line, all single elimination matches of the 2012 Volleyball National Championship. The single-elimination matches' start at 10 a.m. CST on Nov. 30 will be streamed and coverage will continue through the championship match on 8 p.m. CST on Dec. 1. Click here for more information.